Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
|Type of Spell||Structure|
|Area of Effect||Singular|
|Casting Time||(?) s|
|Cooldown Time||(?) s|
Desecrate is the second of two sacrificial spells, and the functional inverse of Convert. Upon using this spell, a Sac Doctor will appear and approach the living, friendly unit on which Desecrate was cast. Once it has done so, the Sac Doctor will then travel to the Altar in question with the creature in tow and begin the process of Desecration. As with Convert, additional Sac Doctors then spawn and begin to dance around the inside of the Altar. So long as the ritual is not interrupted (i.e. none of the four Sac Doctors have taken lethal damage) the Wizard owning the Altar will periodically receive a flat amount of damage to their health, mana, and experience bars, and be revealed to all players by a tall pillar of light, as well as a point of interest on their mini-map. A musical cue accompanies this event.
Should the afflicted Wizard take lethal damage from any source during the process of desecration, they are removed from play, their Structures are unassigned, and all their creatures die, leaving Red Souls. Any Souls that they were carrying are also removed from play. The sacrificed creature's Soul or Souls are returned to its Wizard. The Altar disintegrates, leaving a standard Mana Fountain.
The damage Desecrate deals depends on the Soul cost of the creature being sacrificed. Ergo, if the player sacrifices a Hellmouth instead of a Manahoar, he will be dealing a significantly greater amount of damage through the ritual.
If cast near an unassigned Altar, the ritual commences and completes in short-order, and the Altar disintegrates as usual. If the ritual is disrupted or the initial Sac Doctor is slain, the sacrificial creature will return to battle unharmed, though stripped of any control group designations it may have held prior to Desecrate.
|Possible Targets for the spell Desecrate|
|Enemy Creatures||✘||Neutral Creatures||✘||Friendly Creatures||✘||Your own Creatures||✔|
|Enemy Wizards||✘||Neutral Wizards||✘||Friendly Wizards||✘||Yourself||✘|
|Enemy Structures||✘||Neutral Structures||✘||Friendly Structures||✘||Your own Structures||✘|
|Ground||✘||Flying Creatures||✔||Blue Souls||✘||Red Souls||✘|
This spell can only be cast while directly adjacent to an unfriendly Altar.
In most missions of the campaign wizards are banished by having their altars desecrated. There are exceptions when wizards don't even have altars to desecrate, such as:
- Sorcha in Pyro's third mission,
- Ragman in James' fourth mission,
- Eldred in Stratos' sixth mission,
- Mithras in James' seventh mission,
- Jadugarr and Charlotte in James' ninth mission and
- Marduk in the finale
Note that Sacrifice does not actually support no-altar gameplay. In these missions, the wizards in question have altars in a secluded corner of the map (generally an island surrounded by mountains) which are flagged so they cannot be seen on the minimap. The "permadeaths" of the wizards are solved through clever use of triggers and events. It is not possible to create a map yourself where the wizard has no altar, either.
Similarly, you cannot make use of more than one altar either. You can make more than one altar owned by a wizard, but only one of these altars will be "real", which will cause the wizard to be defeated if the game is lost. The others are "fakes" and their desecration will not achieve the desired effect.
|Every God's Spells in Sacrifice|
|Wizard Spells||Manahoar||Speed Up||Heal|